New to photography, have some questions.

stephenk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am new to photography. I recently picked up a used Canon EOS Rebel 2000 35mm Film SLR with a 20-80mm lens. I've never used an SLR camera or done much photography, but I'd really like to learn using my film SLR before I invest in a good dSLR. I've decided I would practice for a while on color film (I picked up some ISO 200 color film since I'm mostly interested in outdoor photography) and have those processed at a photo lab. Once I learn the ins and outs of the camera and have a bit more experience shooting in this way, I'd like to buy some dark room equipment and B&W film and learn to develop and print my own B&W photos. Once I become accustomed to that, I'd like to buy a DSLR. I have the following questions:

1. What are some needed accessories for the camera I listed above?
2. What are some good books, video series, etc that teach basic film photography and B&W developing and printing ( I don't have any classes in my area)
3. What is a good budget to lay out for a home dark room and what sort of materials should I look into and learn about?
4. Will lenses I purchase for my canon EOS rebel 2000 work with other Canon cameras for when I am ready to upgrade to a DSLR?
5. How do I know when I'm ready to go for a DSLR?
6. Where do you find B&W film? I've had trouble actually locating it.
7. How is the process for developing and printing black and white photographs different from the process of doing the same with color?

Last edited:
Hello Stephen and welcome to the forum.

I would say you are taking a different journey than most who come to this site.
You have some interesting questions and I am looking forward to those who know more about this than I, for the answers.

Thanks! Is different a bad thing? :lmao: How exactly is my approach different?

1) Lens cleaning device, UV filter, polarizing filter, tripod, flash - in that order.