New to photography: Portrait critique please

NickChurch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

As mentioned in another thread, I am new to photography (other than family snaps) and would like some critique on a range of content.

Here is a shot of one of the kids on xmas morning. Taken with an Olympus OM-D E10, Lumix 20mm f1.7. Composition, technicalities, and processing feedback (good or bad) would be really useful.

thanks in advance
2014-12-25-0023sm.jpg

I'm on my phone so I won't comment on processing. Looks like you have decent white balance. His face is a little to underexposed for my liking. I also would love eye contact on this particular shot. Can't wait to see more of your work [emoji2]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I liked it too, IMO its a good portait.

Since you said its ok to edit your photos, I made a few tweaks, hope you don't mind? Don't take it wrong please, your photo is also great but I just wanted show how I like myself a little more. :)

What I did was:
* lighten face a little
* Boost blues
* Desaturate greens
* Add a little clarity and vignetting

2014-12-25-0023sm.jpg

I am now seeing this full size and it looks like it isn't focused :( Try to either get him looking at you (so his eyes are on the same plane) or use a narrower aperture.

Yes, there's a focus issue (related to depth of field) and an exposure issue BUT I think this shows really good potential. You got the background nicely out of focus, you caught a great expression and the bubbles are a good bonus. If you have a natural eye for a good image all the rest can be learned.

it's too close up and oof. This reads candid shot less portrait.

Thanks for the feedback - I have zoomed in and his right eye is pin sharp, but yes, the narrow DoF has meant the whole face is not focussed. I will bear this in mind next time.

I have another similar one below, this one has the eye contact and is in focus - although I know the background is not great