new to photography

elyptical

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi i am new to photography by like 2-3 weeks, i mean i have used cameras but just bought my first dslr which is an olympus evolt e-500, i know its olympus, but it was cheap. I would love to post some pics here to get some advice on what i am or am not doing right or wrong. Being new to the forums i really just wanted to introduce myself first before i posted any pics as to not be rude or anything i guess. Would this be ok?

sure but I think theres a section to introduce yourself.

Perhaps the mods can move this.

Post your pics :)

these are just some things that were around that i was trying some things that i learned about aperature, they are prolly not the greatest, but i am new to this, so whatever advice i can get would be great.

1:
P3090804.jpg

2:
P1011242.jpg

3:
P3090835.jpg

4:
P1011116.jpg

Welcome to the forum...

1. Was this shot through a window? I see some reflection in the lower center of the frame. If so, don't do that.

2. The tilt is making the picture almost dizzying to look at.

3. Missed focus.

4. Check composition and DoF. Try to get everything completely in frame for a more complete shot.

These look better than my first shots so keep at it....

p!nK

1: no it was out on my balcony, so not for sure what that is, didnt even see it till now

2: ok so things like this are better straight on? I dont have a tripd yet so was using the stair railing to take the shot

3: i guess i dont understand this one, how can i make the focus better? To a trained eye i can understand, but it looked good to me when i tried it.

4: what would be a good suggestion for composition and DoF on this same shot? Maybe turning the red bull can to more face the camera?

Thanx for the feedback, i am still working on all these things to make better pictures.

Do you think about why you are taking a picture, and what you want to convey to the viewer, or are these just random test shots?