New to this, I need a LOT of help!

Mango17

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a highschool student and I have taken two classes in film photography. Although I prefer doing digital because I don't have access all the time to a dark room (besides school). I love taking pictures and I especially love doing portraits and really up-close shots. I love animals too, so naturally I enjoy taking pictures of peoples dogs and other pets. I eventually would love to start a small business in pet photography or even just keep it as a hobby. I don't know a lot about the terminology of lenses and cameras, but I do know how to take a good picture. I have a Nikon D40 with a 18-55mm lense. What would be a better lense for my hobby? Do you professionals out there edit you photos in photoshop or some other type of program? I love adjusting brightness and contrast and darkening edges occasionally. Do you guys do that? I want to learn more and better my photography skills. Any advice?

I am a highschool student and I have taken two classes in film photography. Although I prefer doing digital because I don't have access all the time to a dark room (besides school). I love taking pictures and I especially love doing portraits and really up-close shots. I love animals too, so naturally I enjoy taking pictures of peoples dogs and other pets. I eventually would love to start a small business in pet photography or even just keep it as a hobby. I don't know a lot about the terminology of lenses and cameras, but I do know how to take a good picture. I have a Nikon D40 with a 18-55mm lense. What would be a better lense for my hobby? Do you professionals out there edit you photos in photoshop or some other type of program? I love adjusting brightness and contrast and darkening edges occasionally. Do you guys do that? I want to learn more and better my photography skills. Any advice?

Well, Mango, I will start with this - I am far from professional...