Newb needs help finding a camera

alice0427

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This post will make it totally obvious that I'm a newb, so I'm not even going to fake it. I need some help finding a new camera. Right now I'm using a heap of carp Fuji FinePix 2.0 megapixel.

I had purchased a nice Canon before the birth of my DS, but in a fit of pregnant rage, I heaved a misaimed pillow across the room, knocking my new camera off the desk onto the floor, shattering it! Doh! My mom had gotten the FinePix for free when purchasing a Dell computer, so she sent it to me. I'm thankful I had it, but I need a new one so I can take some real pictures of DS!!

Here's what I'm looking for:

-Something that will let me take one picture after another without pausing. Because of the slow processing time of my Fuji, I have lots of pictures of DS falling after taking his first steps, turning his head away after making a cute face, and running the other direction. I want to be able to capture the picture the moment I push the button.

-Something that will produce professional-looking results but still be automatic. I don't want to have to change a bunch of settings to capture the image. I want the subject AND background to be clear and crisp.

-Something with the OPTION to change settings. I'm getting involved with a local camera club, so I'll be learning a lot more. I need a camera I can grow into.

-Something durable. I've got butter fingers! It doesn't have to be indestructable, just rugged enough to withstand the occasional drop (hopefully on carpet).

-My budget is about $800 to $1,200. However, if there is another camera that might be less, all the better! I'm willing to spend the money to get a great camera that will fit us for years.

-I plan mostly on using the camera for family photos, more indoor than outdoor, but I do live in a BEAUTIFUL area where I'd like to do some still shots.