Newbie digital editing questions

Ant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello Everyone. Newbie here.

I've never really been into photography at all but after using a Fuji Finepix A204 for over a year for basic auto point and shoot holiday snap type pics (which it did mostly quite well) I recently decided to get myself something a little more serious in order to try and widen my range a bit and get a few more interesting shots; so a few days ago I got myself an Olympus C-750uz...not exactly a top of the range SLR I know, but it will more than suit my modest purposes for the next year or so while I try to figure out what I'm doing and what the heck all these manual settings are for; and it's not as if I'm planning on ever turning pro or anything :) .

Anyway, a few questions if anybody would be kind enough to help out.

From browsing this forum over a couple of days I get the impression that most digital photographers seem to regard post editing of their photos on the PC as pretty much mandatory. Is this the case, and, if so, what process do you consider to be fairly essential when editing a photo? In other words what basics should I start getting to grips with in editing software? The sum total of my previous experience being nothing more than red eye removal :(.

My camera can shoot in black and white. Is there any advantage in using this or will it make no difference if I just desaturate a colour photo when editing it?

It seems that Adobe Photoshop is the editing program of choice but I've got Arcsoft Photostudio (came bundled with my scanner) does anyone know if it's worth buying photoshop or will I be OK sticking to photostudio?

Any feedback appreciated.

Yes, I think if you want to get serious with digital you need to use a photoshop style program.
You're better off for BW, desaturating and working with the curves, contrast/brightness tools than using the BW filter on your camera. Its still ok to use but I dont use it anymore.