Newbie Here! Looking for advice on purchasing my first professional camera.

hawkeyedre

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone,

I'm from good ol' Iowa. The only way to keep my sanity living here is to travel...A LOT! Through my travels, I have become obsessed with photography. I've always just used a Canon point and shoot camera. People joke around that I'm the "paparazzi." A few people and organizations have asked for me to take pictures for them. I loved it so much, I decided I'd like to start doing photography on the side.

So here's where I could use some help...what kind of camera and lens should I get? I'm pretty sure I'd like to get a DSLR. I don't really have a budget, but I'd like to start out small and upgrade as I get better. By small, I don't mean buy I cheap $400 camera. I just mean possibly start out with a used but good quality camera and maybe one or two lens, and then buy more and upgrade as I grow. My wedding photographer had mentioned he bought a very nice used camera for $1,000, and after 5 years is still using it. Does this sound realistic? What did everyone else do or recommend? What kind of camera and lens should I get? Where do you recommend I buy from?

I'd like a camera that takes good landscape pictures, especially for my travels. I also would like to get into baby, family, senior, and wedding photography.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Andrea

Welcome to the forum.