Newbie Here! (Self-Portraits with Nikon D3300)

Wake

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

I'm new to photography. New as in 'what the heck are all these terms?'

What I want to do is take some nice pictures of myself and put them on Facebook, eHarmony, etc.

Here's what I've got so far:

1) Nikon D3300 DSLR camera
2) Nikon Lens: AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 85mm f/3.5G ED VR (fun taking close up pics)
3) Nikon Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR II
4) Nikon Lens: AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G VR II
5) Neewer Camera Photo/Video 18"Outer 14"Inner 600W 5500K Dimmable Ring Fluorescent Flash Light (Light Only)
6) Polaroid Shutter Release Timer Remote Control For Nikon D3300
7) Oppilas Wireless Shutter Remote Control for Nikon
8) I also bought a backdrop package with umbrella lights but haven't opened it up yet.

So, in a nutshell, how do I take good portraits with this? I'd like to do full-body, shoulders and up, and face shots.

Also I'm missing a part to connect my Nikon camera onto the Neweer Ring Light's flat iron port, and I don't have a stand to put the Ring Light on. Could you guys share with me what I need and how to do this?

I don't see a tripod in your list, so you'll have to prop up your camera on a table or something. Make sure it is not "wiggly", and that the lens is not in a bind.

Aim it at the place where you will pose. Set up some lights. I am not sure if I understand what lights those are, but whatever they are, use them.

Set your shutter to "remote" in the shutter menu. stand over there, and point the remote at the camera. Press the button. Go see how it looks and what all you need to adjust.

Repeat.

Just ordered a tripod that'll work with the D3300, and a mini ball head. I think the lights they call soft boxes. Will try them out a bit.

I'll try this out.

For a Nikon D3300 do you guys have any suggestions for the best lens to take head and shoulder portraits?

Setting things up now.