Newbie, looking for any advice!

tabbymichelle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
lorephotography.gq.nu
I am in school for photography and though I love to take pictures and experiment with things, I am very far from being a pro just yet. I would love any advice on great quality digitals, 35mm SLRs, medium formats, anything that I can use down the road but will fit a small budget. As of now, I own a 5MP fujifilm digital and my dad just gave me his old praktica mtl3 35mm SLR(I have not yet tried it out, but have seen some photos that my dad took with it.) I am really wondering if what I have is "okay" I have some doubts about the quality my digital puts out. I am really just clueless and ANY advice would really help me out. Please be gentle with me because I am very new at it!! Thanks so much!!!

ps. I am very interested in the way cameras work and love learning. My grandfather has an old medium format from the 40s that I am considering asking him for if I work up the nerve of course. I want to increase my collection!

Doc is on the right track....

As with most students, money is going to be tight and building a system around a digital SLR can be quite expensive. Not only in initial expense but also down the road as things become obsolete. All the that investment in technology will not necessarily translate into a better education. Many would argue that the complexities of the equipment would just be a distraction.

One good thing about all the focus on digital cameras is that it has driven many to sell their old but good film equipment. This has driven the cost of used film camera equipment low enough that students can now afford equipment that was unreachable in previous years. So a good 35mm camera and some great glass would be a good start.... any camera from canon, nikon and pentax can potentially be the best choice for you. I would try a few out and see which fits you. Try not to be influenced by brand loyalty.