Newbie, Nikon 3200, best next lens for family photography?

Midnight78

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi. I am a newbie and have a Nikon 3200. My short term goals are to get amazing photos of my young children and long term thoughts on maybe going into family photography.

Right now, I have the 18-55 and feel like I need a better zoom so I can do closeups of faces without actually getting into my kids faces and ruining their moments. What is the next best lens? 55-200 or 55-300? What about 70-300? I have to be careful about price.

Thanks!

indoors or outdoors?

Any of those will get you some extra distance, for sure. The limitations of any of those lenses will be low-light performance. If you are shooting indoors, you will face challenges getting enough light to effectively use the higher end of those zooms. (aperture size gets too small on the higher end of the zoom range).

If you are shooting outdoors with good light, the challenges will be less.

For my money, I'd go with the 55-200. You should be able to pick up a lightly used version for about $100, and it makes a nice match for the 18-55 kit lens. In fact, many vendors were offering package deals with a body, the 18-55, and the 50-200 VR lens. It makes for a nice basic package without spending a fortune.

Steve.

Thank you so much for your replies. Both indoors and outdoors during the day time. Obviously, mostly outdoors when the weather is better.

Where do you buy used lenses? Ebay?

The telephoto will be more or less useless indoors in poor lighting without going very high on the ISO. You need to keep the shutter speed higher when you zoom in in order to get a sharp image, and that means you need more light or a higher ISO.