Newbie Questions-- Please Help

yanksfan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
First Off I am VERY New to Photography, I have a Fuji S700, I believe Its like a Point and Shoot Camera.. So if anyone can get me set on the RIGHT settings for the best photos, I would love it... :hail:

So Here are my Questions:

1. I Love Shooting Wildlife Photography, so anyway I live in West Virginia and all we have here is mountains, so I ride a ATV to access my point of interest. Do you all recommended riding the ATV for wildlife photography?

2. Which Setting Should My Camera Be On?
--Quality ( Options: 03M, 2M, 4M, 3:2M, 7MN, 7MF)

I don't know about your particular camera, but my take has always been to capture at the highest resolution possible, because you can always downsize in Photoshop or Elements, but you can't add resolution.

I set my camera to the max it can give me.

If you are shooting for nature photography, I'd suggest setting in to a "landscape" mode. This will bring out the rich blue and green tones you'll find outside.

Also, the higher the resolution, the better. Try setting the photo quality to "fine" or the equivalent on your camera.

As a Fuji S700/5700 shooter myself, how did I miss this one?

Do not go beyond setting the ISO past 400. With a bright sunny day, you can use ISO64 or 100. As the clouds move in, up the ISO to 200.

Inside the house or a building, using the S700 can be difficult. ISO400 gets some pretty good noise in it, but it's still somewhat tolerable. You can fix the noise from ISO400 fairly easily in post processing. ISO 800 or 1600 is useless. Inside a house, unless very very well lit with lights or sunlight through the window, you are going to have some slow shutter speeds around 1/60. This can be tough to shoot handheld as you will easily get camera shake.