Newbie with a Nikon D500

RyanandEmilysmum

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I am a newbie to having a decent camera. I mainly invested in a good camera and lenses so I could take some good sports photos of my kids. Both play AFL and my son also umpires and I found our old point and shoot camera was just not cutting it any more. I am doing ok so far learning about Aperture, shutter speed etc and so far the only fails I am having is taking photos at night time under lights, I have tried so many difference settings and my photos are terrible, all blurry :(

Attachments

• DSC_1518.JPG
    DSC_1518.JPG
    969.8 KB · Views: 161
your Photo EXIF
Camera: Nikon D500
Lens: AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Shot at 180 mm (shot wide open)
Exposure: Auto exposure, Program AE, 1/6 sec, f/2.8, ISO 100
Flash: none
Focus: Manual, at 30m, with a depth of field of about 2.3m, (from about 1.1m before the focus point to about 1.2m after)
AF Area Mode: Single Area

FocusPointCheck.jpg

The above image showed "White + Red: Selected as primary AF point, but not locked". Thus the subject is *not* in focus as the AF system did not lock the lens on the subject. You'll notice that the grass behind the subject is in focus.

Last edited:
FIRST of all
you missed FOCUS on the subject, or more specifically your D500's AutoFocus system gained focus, but maybe the camera was set for Manual Focus ?

If you look at the grass in the background you'll see the ground is IN FOCUS. Even though your FOCUS POINT is on the subject
D500_OOF.jpg

So I would go back and learn how to focus properly with the D500. The EXIF states you were focusing in "Manual" instead of using the AutoFocus??

I think you had the camera in MANUAL Focus, and not AutoFocus or something else was not set right ??
Check the little lever on the left front bottom of the camera. It could be set to "M" instead of "AF". AF is AutoFocus, M is Manual. If in M the lens will *not* AutoFocus.