Newborn photo advice

runnergirl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I will start by saying, I am a beginner, I never plan to go pro, I never plan to charge money, and I have a beginner DSLR camera. I am not looking to be a professional photographer; I'm a doctor and am doing some photography in my spare time. I have a Sony alpha200 with a kit lens and a Sony HVL-F42AM external flash and a cheap tripod...maybe if I get good and stick with it I will upgrade later, but for now this is very much a beginner package.

My sister is having her first baby in May and she lives very far from me. I will be visiting for 5 days and would love to get some great photos of my new nephew and was wanting some basic newborn advice. I know all the functions of my camera and I do not plan on positioning the baby in unusual poses, and of course I would not do anything unsafe to him. Beyond that: do you have any specific advice that has helped you in photographing newborns?

Again, not charging, my sister expects no professional photos (I don't even think she knows I bought a new camera), and I just want to really capture the most I can in those first few days of his life because it only happens once!

if you want to take some great photos for baby may be you want to see /QUOTE]

After some hits on that Blog, are you? Not much out there I would call accurate!

Last edited:
I will start by saying, I am a beginner, I never plan to go pro, I never plan to charge money, and I have a beginner DSLR camera. I am not looking to be a professional photographer; I'm a doctor and am doing some photography in my spare time. I have a Sony alpha200 with a kit lens and a Sony HVL-F42AM external flash and a cheap tripod...maybe if I get good and stick with it I will upgrade later, but for now this is very much a beginner package.