Nighttime in the Rain - CC

Abby Rose

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Last night I took some pictures in the rain. I'd never done that before! It was fun. Everything was so much more colorful because of the puddles. :)

Anyway, I was wondering how I did on these. I like them, but that might just be because it was something I've never done before. I do that a lot, when I try something new. Its one of those "I really like these pictures!" moments, and when you go back a few months later, its one of those "man these actually suck" moments. :) I hope this isnt too many for a CC thread. Please let me know and I can delete a few.

The big pile of dirt in most of them is from construction. It's been going on forever! All the sites are flooded now.

1. The path to the cafeteria
DSC00196B.jpg

2. What I see across the street from in front of my dorm
DSC00200B.jpg

3. About the same as the last one except larger aperture
DSC00203B.jpg

4. Directly across the street
DSC00204B.jpg

5. Thats me. I wanted someone to walk into the frame here, but no one was around. So I waited for the rain to let up a bit (because there was no one to hold my umbrella over my camera either! :blushing:), and then set the self timer. Even with the lens hood though, a drop of rain got on the lens.
DSC00221B.jpg

6. About the same as the last one. The ISO on both of these was much higher than where I usually put it, because I didnt want too long of an exposure since I had to leave my camera alone in the rain. Is the noise very bad?
DSC00223B.jpg

I think they are a great start. I'm the same way, my first macro shots i thought were amazing. The more I learn about that type of photography, the more i realize how crappy my first shots were.

Sure, you could improve on these. A few have a lens flare, which may have been desired, but probably not.