Nikon 50mm 1.8d vs 35mm 1.8g lens

LowdownJT

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I am looking for a faster lens for my 5100 and I can either pick up the 35mm for $200 or I can snag a very clean used 50mm f1.8d for $80. Both of them get very good reviews, and from the samples seem like they would do a great job. I know the 50mm will be totally manual, but I find I am playing more with manual focus than AF, so not sure if that is a downside. Being that I am new to SLR cameras, I am swaying towards the 35mm because it does give me the AF option if I need it, but it seems hard to pass up the 50mm for the price. Anything else I should consider before I make the decision one way or the other?

Thanks,

Two entire diff lenses. Two diff focal lengths. Depends what you plan to shoot. Casual walk around- you might see value in the 35.

Casual walk arounds, kids, and scenery are about what I am looking at shooting. Kids are in plays and concerts, so I need something good in lower light situations, which I understand both these will be a huge improvement over the 2 lenses I have currently.

I have the 50mm 1.8D and have no problems taking pictures with it. My only gripe since it won't autofocus on the D3100/D5100 is that it is nearly impossible to hand it over to someone and take a decent photo of you unless that person is knolwledgeable with cameras. The 50mm AF-S G has a focus motor and costs $220. I would suggest that you spend a day shooting at 35mm then at 50mm and see which is better for you and decide which focal length you want and if a manual focus would be suited for you should you decide to go for the 50mm.

I was recently faced with a similar decision and I went with the 35 1.8 and have been very happy with it. On my camera it is more like a 52mm and has helped indoors in some of the smaller areas I've been. So far it's what is on my camera most of the time.

Although, for the price of the 50mm it might be worth grabbing even if you do get the 35mm.