Nikon body options (for video?)

CA_

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, there's a closet hobby of mine I haven't shared on this forum yet, but Photography has been somewhat of a stepping stone in a linear progression to what I'm gradually realizing may be my favorite form of media: Film. I'm a musician (a classically trained pianist), so my style tends to be somewhat cinematic; I love story telling through image composition, so film is becoming something I'm gearing up to dive into.

With that being said, I have shot Nikon exclusively (though I've dabbled in Canon and wasn't too impressed). I am considering upgrading my body to something that I can still do my photography, but will produce stellar video.

The absolute best video I've ever seen outside of maybe a $15,000 RED Scarlet, was the GH2 with 4K hack. I was blown away by the footage from that body, and one can be had for less than $700. The downside? The image quality from my D5100 is far far superior to the GH2, however the video from my d5100 although decent, can't touch the GH2, especially at 180/mbs 4k res.

I'm considering a D600 (mainly for photography reasons), but I'm not sure how much different it will be for video vs. the GH2 4k. My other option is the Black Magic Cinema Camera, but that's about $3000 for the body only, not including the rig, SSD, and other things I'll need to even make it work.

I've seen plenty of shoot outs, and it seems the GH2 4k decimates pretty much everything its put against, even the MKII / MK3. But, I'm concerned I'll be taking a hit in quality for still photography..

Thoughts?

I personally use a d3100 for video when I want a short DOF feel for b-roll shots. It's great on a tripod and on a dolly system. But using a stabilizer just kills it and you get crazy frame roll.

That being said I always rely on purpose built video cameras for crucial shots.