Nikon Brand Flash vs. Aftermarket

supraman215

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Is there a major difference I'm not a pro or anything but I want a decent quality flash. Recommendations on brand?

Jeff

I have always heard nothing beats the Nikon’s for their CLS (Creative Lighting System).
Metz is a name that comes to mind that I hear mentioned, but I have no experience with them personally. If budget allows, go for the SB-600, 900 if you have no budget constraints.

What model camera do you have? What types of situations do you anticipate you might want to use flash?

The difference is the aftermarket speedlights are reverse engineered and are made with less build quality, like a plastic hot shoe foot instead of a metal hot shoe foot.

What do you want to light and how much do you want to spend?

Do you want to just do Nikon i-TTL (Through-The-Lens) flash metering or manual mode. There are a lot more aftermarket options if you go manual mode. Vivitar, Bower, Sigma, Nissin, Metz, Sunpak

Off camera flash (OCF) is growing in popularity but you need have a way to trigger the off camera speedlight, either optically or with a radio signal.

Most Nikon cameras have the built-in CLS. You don't mention whhich Nikon you have.

Many Nikon shooters use the Nikon SB-600 but the top-of-the-line Nikon speedlight is the SB-900.

Visit www.strobist.com (OCF) and www.planetneil.com (bounced on camera flash) for more speedlight lighting info.

I have the D90. I can afford the SB-600 easily but I found the 900 on craigslist for $400 barely used, might be able to get them down further.

The flash would be mostly for portraits. My most common subject is my family.

Jeff

an sb600 and a cheap diffuser works great for portraits, so ive heard. I have yet to get a sb600, but ive heard they're great!

It's a shame that Nikon discontinued the SB-800. I love those units.