Nikon D3100 vs Sony a390 --Where to start?

Terap

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
I am an absolute beginner to DSLRs, looking to buy a good entry level DSLR.I am keen on doing Night photography,City Scape, sports/action.

The cameras I am currently considering are;

1) Nikon D3100: (Pro: Has 1080p movie!) (Con: No IS)
2) Sony a390: (Pro: Tiltable screen; IS; stylish design) (Con: No movie)
3) Pentax K-r : (Pro: Same as Nikon D3100) (Con: Bit more expensive)
4) Canon E0S 1100 D (Rebel T3) : (Pro: Same as Nikon D3100) (Con: No IS)

There is very little difference in the speces of the four above. In the end, I want to base my decision on 1) how easy/cheap will be the lenses for the camera 2) Which will allow me to grow as a photographer 3) which will keep it's value for the longest (in case I want to upgrade)

Here is a full comparsion of the four if you wish to take a look:
http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=nikon_d3100&products=sony_dslra390&products=pentax_kr&products=canon_eos1100d

I will greatly appreciate any feed back

IS can be found in the lens. Just spend a few extra $$ on the kit you buy, and you should be able to get the body and a lens that comes with image stabilizer!

Welcome to the forums. I can only speak for the Nikon D3100 on your list because that is what I have. Nikons do have IS in their VR line of lenses. The kit lens with mine was the 18-55 VR and it works well / as designed.
If a tilt LCD is a pro for you, you could consider moving up one model to the Nikon D5100. I think with either the Nikon or Canon on your list, any lenses or flashes you buy you could upgrade the camera body later and still use them, as long as you stay with the same manufacturer, i.e., Nikon or Canon.

HTH

I thought the Canon had IS. Like said before, The Nikon Kit lenses have Vibration Reduction (as well as the expensive long lenses).