Canon User of 8 Years, I am Now Switching To Nikon. D800 VS 7D Lowlight Video Inside

FaymusMedia

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.faymusmedia.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been shooting Canon since 2004. First my 5D, then my 5D mark II, then my 7D. However over the years Canon has become very good for video, however their "focus" system is not really all that great. Most of the time I shoot manual focus because of it. Nikon has never appealed to me because of the lack video mode and many other reasons. I was looking at the
D3x
for many reasons 1 being resolution. Price was just too high, plus I have to get all new lenses, and video is a no go.

Earlier this year in the spring I was following the 5D mark III announcement. I read up on the details and realized its basically a mark II with pretty much a few new features. Sure higher resolution, by 1MP, and slightly better noise performance. However in reality the only real jump is the auto focus system. Which in my opinion from all my photographer friends Nikon has always had great auto focus performance. So to me, it was a 3 year wait for the same camera with just an auto focus improvement. Canon does this alot, and quite frankly I am getting sick of it. I had to wait 3 years for manual audio control on my 7D.

Moments after watching and researching the 5D mark III release information which at that time was may, it was set to come out in September. I never noticed anything on the
D800
because I was too wrapped in wishful thinking for the 5D mark III. I stumbled across the D800 by accident, and my eyes lit up!