Nikon D5000 Zoom Lens

hopkins1512

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have the Nikon D5000 and I want to get a zoom lens to take pictures of my brother playing baseball (sometimes at night). I am new to SLR, but love taking pictures! I don't want to spend too much money, but I want something that will be worth it and last me a while. Also are there any places that have GREAT prices on lenses?

I have the Nikon D5000 and I want to get a zoom lens to take pictures of my brother playing baseball (sometimes at night). I am new to SLR, but love taking pictures! I don't want to spend too much money, but I want something that will be worth it and last me a while. Also are there any places that have GREAT prices on lenses?

Well I hate to be the first poster for this one, but since no one has jumped in and since I shoot sports here goes.

What you are looking for in a lens and what it sounds like you want to spend really don't go together. Sports photography takes fast shutter speed. 1/250th at the bare minimum to freeze action. This is pretty easy outdoors in the daylight.

At night it is another story. That is were you have to have fast glass combined with higher ISO to get a fast enough shutter speed. An F2.8 lens at a minimum for poor light conditions. I do not know of any f2.8 zooms that are cheap. My 70-200 f2.8 was $1200.00. My 24-70 f2.8 was even more.

That is not to say you can't accomplish your goal. Instead of a zoom, look at a decent prime lens in the length you need. The length you need will depend on where you are shooting from.

Sorry had to edit this. My eyes were seeing baseball and my brain was reading basketball.