No blur/same focus everywhere.

Karl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Heya,

Complete beginner's question..

I'm starting to understand focus and depth of field, how the lens focuses on one point (my subject) and blurs whatever's in front of at the back..

Now my question is, how do I make it so EVERYTHING in the image is clear, no blur, no focus on anything in particular?

My gear is in my signature although this is a question mainly for my D90.

Last edited:
By stopping down (using a smaller aperture).

But won't using a too low aperture make the images way too dark? Thus forcing me to use flash?

If you use a smaller aperture, you will need to choose a correspondingly longer shutter speed -- so as to let the same amount of light in. Alternately (or in addition), you can increase your ISO to make your sensor more sensitive to light.

But setting your aperture to its maximum (say, f/22) is not enough. It's all about where you focus -- the idea you want to learn about is called hyperfocal distance. Here's a link: Hyperfocal distance. Read it, understand it. The basic idea is: the hyperfocal distance is the distance which, given an aperture and focal length, if you focus at that distance, you will have "perfect" focus from 1/2 of the hyperfocal distance, out to infinity. This is as close as you're going to get to what you want.

Thanks a lot dcclark!!

I made a few tests.

I set two objects on a table distanced by about 30 cm one from the other.

I used my 35mm manual focus (although honestly, I don't know what each of my lenses does.. Consequences of "inheriting" a photography kit and throwing myself in the art)

Then to get a clear focus of both the objects, no blur, I had to set about 22 aperture.. which made the picture really dark. In consequence, I lowered my shutter speed a lot, down to 2, and got a really clear picture. Bingo! Just learnt something new: