noise. noISE, NOISE

Chris399

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I encountered an issue over the weekend while out shooting birds. It was quite overcast and I was shooting at ISO 1250, with Nikon 70-200 2.8 set at 5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/250. While processing the image I am noticing a lot of noise, which I feel I should not be experiencing due only to the ISO 1250. Are there other factors that contribute to noise other than ISO settings, ie extreme under/over exposure, over cropping, etc.

All advice is much appreciated.

Chris

Seems like it must have been REALLY overcast to need ISO 1250 at 5.6 and still only get a shutter speed of 1/250.

But anyway--I'm no expert, and others will be able to give more detailed answers. But from personal experience, I do know that yes, correcting exposure (especially correcting an underexposed photo), cropping and sharpening will ALL introduce varying levels of noise into a photo.

First, shoot raw. That will give you much more ability to edit it in post.

Second, post an example. That way we know more of what you're dealing with.

I encountered an issue over the weekend while out shooting birds. It was quite overcast and I was shooting at ISO 1250, with Nikon 70-200 2.8 set at 5.6 and a shutter speed of 1/250. While processing the image I am noticing a lot of noise, which I feel I should not be experiencing due only to the ISO 1250. Are there other factors that contribute to noise other than ISO settings, ie extreme under/over exposure, over cropping, etc.

All advice is much appreciated.

Chris

You didn't say what camera (it makes a difference in this case) and if you were processing from the RAW files.