noisy image at low iso

fordfulkerson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I seems like I am getting noise even at low iso levels. I am using a canon 60D with 18-135mm lens.
Am I doing something wrong?

Image 1: raw jpeg
Imge 2: raw jpeg

Also, I am a newbie and any suggestions on how to improve the photo will be much appreciated! Thank you!

The noise that you're referring to in my opinion is probably from the haze that is presant in the two pictures. Some of things I noticed - Image 1: the horizon isn't level - Image 2: the horizon isn't quite level but better than #1, and too much sand in the foreground for my taste.

Practice makes perfect! All the pros started with one shutter release...

Ya more likely haze than noise

I took the liberty of making one adj to your photo #1 I applied a +25 dehaze to it. Dehaze is a useful thing, BUT is very very easy to over apply.
upload_2016-6-13_5-47-48.jpeg

fwiw,personal store sites like dropbox are banned at most worksites. so i was unable to view the images.

dont mistake noise for atmospheric junk.

Thank you all for your replies! I am sure I am going to learn something new everyday on this forum!

@Braineack Is there any recommended way to upload photos? Initially when I used the upload photo option, it gave an error saying the file size was above the allowed limit. Hence I used dropbox.

Noise looks appropriate to me. You exposed with the camera set to ISO 100, but arguably you could have used a little more exposure. The lighting is side to backlight and as such high contrast. That's considerably mitigated by the haze, but you are still left with the question, are the highlights in the water diffuse or specular. Your exposure has retained full detail in all the highlights with some room to spare. So you could have used some more exposure. Noise is really a function of exposure and not ISO.