Novice looking for suggestions

Irishlck22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!
I am new to photography and recently purchased a Canon Rebel SL1 DSLR camera. I was torn between this model and the Nikon D3300, but ultimately went with Canon due to the compact size. I am now doing more research and it seems that users feel that the Nikon D3300 has better picture quality, which I would think would be the most important component. Has anyone had experience with both cameras and would recommend one over the other?

Many thanks!
Erin

I am fairly new to photography too, with a DLSR anyway I have a Nikon D5100 and the reason I picked it firstly was because both my father and brother have Nikons. A film type SLR from the 80's and a DSLR respectively and I could swap/borrow there lenses and two there was an offer on.

Canon SL1 vs Nikon D3300 - Our Analysis

It seems like the Nikon is better,

Just Google Canon Model v Nikon Model

Thank you so much! That is what I am taking away from reading the reviews as well. When I purchased the camera, I was told that the two were essentially comparable and it would come down to a matter of which one was a better fit, handling wise. I too from reading the reviews am getting the feeling that the Nikon is better, just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something. Have you found that you are changing lenses frequently? Thank you!

Don't believe the hype.

Your Canon will be fine. The difference between them is not so much what the numbers suggest but how you use it. Skill is very important, as are lenses. No point in looking over at other brands now. You have a good camera, enjoy.

Where are you based