Of All People

MattTX

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I don't post much. I apologize. I have followed the threads here and I took the time to download the app, you'd think I would at least take the time to be active. I intend to change that...I hope!

This is just a "venting" post because I'm really hacked off right now. Here's the deal:

An artist had some of her paintings on exhibit in a small local gallery with other artists as well. It was a "multi-exhibit" sort of thing. I am also a painter (mostly oils, and more sketching than painting actually), but I did not know about this exhibit. A friend of mine called me and told me this particular artist needed some photos of her paintings at the exhibit. I went to the exhibit one evening a couple of weeks ago and met her. She does what we call "decor art", which entails paintings with various patterns and colors that you see in doctor's offices, business offices, etc. She wanted photos of the paintings (total of six paintings) for use on a web site she is having designed. She wanted them done in the gallery for a few reasons. In any case, I told her I would get a quote to her, which I emailed the following day.

She called me back today. She decided the price was more than she could afford. Okay, no problem. I would wish her well in finding another photographer, which of course I'm sure she can. She paused as if surprised and said, "Oh, I thought maybe we could work something out." I said sure we could, and offered a few suggestions - decreasing the number of paintings she wanted photos of, the number she wanted, etc. She didn't want to do that. The gallery lighting wasn't conducive to the actual exhibit much less the ability to shoot under, and I would need to transport and set up much more gear than usual to do it. She didn't want to give on anything. Before I could tell her well, I'm sorry then, I just can't do it, she went on to something else, which is my reason for this venting.