Ohio sunset C&C

MaoZeBong

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
sup everybody, im a bit new at photography, and even newer at digital. i shot film for about a year before finally springing for a d5100. the picture below has zero editing and is a jpeg straight off my camera. let me know what you guys think and tips to improve myself. i love shooting sunrises/sunsets, and any tips i can get to improve my shooting is very welcome.

301610_1618370825914_1435680533_31778837_1367163126_n.jpg

For a straight out of the camera shot, it's very good. I would have composed it some what differently. Lower angle so that the road exists the full frame on the bottom, but not past either side. The amount of angle to the left would have still given you the option of keeping the road on the right side. Last thing is to correct the tilt which is high right/low left.

Later pictures with the sun actually below the horizon will yield more saturated sky tones.

Joel

You captured a great mackarel sky. Because the sky is much brighter than the land, you've lost most detail due to major underexpose. Using an ND grad filter would have allowed you to bring more detail back into the earth portion of the photo. They are used quite a bit in landscape photography.

Secondly, some of the detail could have been saved had you shot in raw, so it's something you might want to look into.

wow love it when the sky does that, beautiful. I concur with the comments of joel and bazooka on ways to improve.

You captured a great mackarel sky. Because the sky is much brighter than the land, you've lost most detail due to major underexpose. Using an ND grad filter would have allowed you to bring more detail back into the earth portion of the photo. They are used quite a bit in landscape photography.

Secondly, some of the detail could have been saved had you shot in raw, so it's something you might want to look into.

+1