One "Good" shot. One "Bad" shot. What went right? What went wrong?

Shinden

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, back in February, I took these two shots, I just got the photos back from development the other day. I shared some of the shots with my friends, and I noticed that people loved the shot with the headlights turned off, but were not so drawn to the one with the headlights turned on. I liked the way the car stands out a bit more with the headlights on and I also like the reflections on the side of it and on the pavement in front of it, but the photo just is overall not as attractive. What did I do right in the headlights off photo, and what did I do wrong in the headlights on photo? I'm still learning this, but I want to shoot cars more, so I've been practicing with my own whenever I have time.
InkedAsset0004_LI.jpg
InkedInkedAsset0008_LI.jpg

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

-

I do prefer the shot with the headlights on, they give it dynamic and
I like the way the light meter reacted to the extra light rendering a
more realistic environment.

The fact that you do not yet understand all that is going on in any gi-
ven shot does not implies you did something wrong. Keep going! :encouragement:

Headlights on for me, for sure. As NS says, it makes it more dynamic. I also like the bit of color they add. Aside from dynamic I think it is an overall better composition. The angle it was taken from allows for more detail and feeling of depth behind the car. Nice shot.

Honestly? Kill the color cast or better, perhaps, go for b&w and work for a noir-ish mood. Night shots usually require a contrast boost to increase perceived sharpness. The old Nik plug-ins are still free for download and worth grabbing. Their Silver Efex Pro 2 plug-in will allow huge scope for taking this up a few notches.

This is a very quick edit with Silver Efex Pro 2

noir.jpg