One Photo 3 Ways - VOTE

CGR

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there. I'm still pretty new to using Lightroom and I'm struggling to find my "style". I seem to want to edit each photo totally different. But I know that if I ever want to work toward a brand, I need to come up with more a style that is my own. I digress, anyway... this is one picture, 3 ways. I'm curious, which do you like best?

p.s. If I had to give this photo a name it would be "Big Sister Problems" LOL ;)

$2.jpg$3web.jpg$1web.jpg

I usually go for light and bright (like #1). But I felt that she was sort of moody and that inspired some moody edits. How important do you all think it is to have a "brand"- like for someone to be able to look at an image and know it is yours? (or at least know what to expect if you will be photographing them)

Another vote for #1

Well, ignoring the fact that I don't like the chopped off head or the landscape orientation here--#1 or #3, either one works pretty well.
#2 looks more like a Depression-era photo--to me--and makes me think the child is poor, needy and possibly neglected or orphaned more than just moody. Which is fine if that's what you're going for, but I'm guessing it's not. :D

I can't really speak to how important it is to have a signature "style" since I don't shoot for a living--I shoot what I want, when I want (well, no--when I *can* really, not when I *want*) and process it however I feel like processing it.
But it would SEEM to me like it's more important to just deliver consistently GOOD results, rather than results that all have a particular "style" to them. I'd say it's probably good to process all of one session in a particular style for consistency, but other than that, I'd tend to do whatever worked best, imo, for that session, not just fit them all into "my style." But then, that could be reason #3,516 why Professional Photography is not for me. :lol:

#1 is my favorite.