Outdoor portrait attempt - help a newb!

dMau1986

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a terribly new photography hobbyist and I am practicing to shoot my girlfriend's senior portraits in a couple months.

These are my first attempts at outdoor portraits and I am not impressed with how they turned out. These shots were taken a little before sunset, Canon 40D - 50mm/1.8f. Natural light obviously.

I do not plan on investing in any off camera lighting other than a reflector for the actual shoot when I have someone to help.

Any help is appreciated.

portraitpractice0212.jpg

portraitpractice0212.jpg

Your main problem is shooting at F1.8 , F1.8 has a narrow depth of field which means you only get a small distance infront and behind of your focus point, try again at F5.6 and f8 your first shot is at F1.8 1/6400 so you have a lot of leeway in your settings

I don't think the f1.8 is too much of an issue if the eyes were in focus. A bit more depth of field may be desired but I shoot at f1.8 and like it.

I only like #2. She is frowning too much in #1 and #3 probably due to the low standing sun.

Direct sunlight is not flattering.

In all of these she is to orange.

While you are exploring how to do portraiture be sure and explore how to pose and how different types of lighting look.

What you have here is known as short lighting. There is also broad lighting, and with a reflector or two you can do butterfly or clamshell lighting.

Visit Kirk Voclain Photography and Jessica Edwards Photography for some guidance. Look closely at the backgrounds.

:thumbup:assumptions?