Outdoors Portrait Help....Please

Fleetwood271

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been asked to do some portraits for a co-worker and his girlfriend this Sat. Since I've had my DSLR, I've focused mainly on still life, flowers, nature, and other areas common to us beginners. I have very little experience with portraits.

Can anyone give me some tips that will help me capture the best images I can for this couple? Posing tips possibly?
Or if you can suggest a website, or give me a link, that would be helpful.
I can order a book and have it shipped overnight, if there is a book that you would suggest.

My camera is a D90. I have a few lens (which you can see in my signature), but for portraits, I will probably use the 50mm 1.8, or the 24-75mm 2.8.

Even though this is outdoors, the location they have chosen is a waterfall, which is almost entirely shaded. I only have one shoe flash to use, but I do have radio triggers, so I can move it off camera. I have stands and umbrellas also.
Any lighting tips would be helpful.

I guess I am just nervous that I will be responsible for these pictures. I am confident in my abilites, and have no problem when I am taking pictures for myself, whether it be of my family or still life shots for contests, etc.

I just want this to turn out right for them.

Thanks in advance for all your help.