Painting with light - Experimental

RyanMTaylor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So these shots aren't exactly perfectly composed but I wanted to see if you guys could give me any ideas that you get that spark from these photos.

In each of them I hit my shutter release switch and ran up with a halogen flashlight and tried different methods of "painting" it on the subject. Not sure where the idea came from but I'm new to this whole photography thing and I wanted to try something really new.

Word to the wise: It's exhausting hahah. Anyways, here goes nothing. Don't be gentle by any means but also keep in mind that they are all very experimental. The main purpose I am posting these is so that people can get ideas for trying something new(myself included).

IMG_1995.jpg
treeBeforeAndAfter.jpg
IMG_1952.jpg
and this one is really terrible for me but I had to use it because my face is in it and it looks SUPER creepy. hah

The first one is pretty interesting, nice work. The third is definitely a bit creepy with the floating face. The second doesn't do much for me, it's not nearly noticeable enough, the first would be my choice.

Thanks. :) I actually don't think any of them are too great. It's just kinda the idea that I wanted to expand upon and see if we can come up with some ideas that are a little more interesting or at least make some sense, compositionally(sp?).

My brother does a lot of this kind of pictures. I'll see if I can snag some from him to show you. It's fun to mess with pics like that. I did one about a month ago with three ghost images of myself. It is a lot of work to perfect though, since exposures can be quite long. I'm still playing with it myself.

Ok, here's a few I've dug up. They are some of his older ones, but still kinda cool.
0322-0012.jpg

0322-0030.jpg

0354-0154.jpg

And the one I took. . .
DSC01772.jpg

i've messed around with light painting before. it's pretty fun