Peculiar recommendation request

rickwilmath

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a landscape guy and I want to take pictures of landscapes especially small plant beds. I won't be doing any close-ups and I will be taking the vast majority of pictures from about 10 feet to 30 feet range. Realistically, I am an amateur photographer although I have worked with some of the settings such as white balance and f-stop and would like to be able to tweek the camera if I could but this isn't a big item.

I am only interested in image quality and don't care about any of the other bells and whistles.

Also, I am on a strict budget and would like to get something used from ebay hopefully for less than $150 so I will probably end up with something out of date but useful for my purposes.

Any ideas?
Thanks
Rick

Nikon D200 off ebay. Nice thing about them is they have the body AF drive so you can use the AF and AF-D type AF lenses on it. Along with MF lenses from older film days. I just looked and several going for $150 or less. Some with lenses of various mm range.

If you have a cell phone you're all set.
Agreed, in your price range best use your cell phone, keep saving money and when you have more money then buy a good camera.

Can't really get you there at that price range.

For $325.00 USD you can get a used D3200 with kit lens. Couldn't comfortably go lower, thinking offhand. Another vote for cell phone unless funds are available for more...

Last edited:
A D200 costs $150 by itself and is useless without glas.

I know some pretty darn supercheap lenses that are great anyway, for example the manual focus Nikon 50mm f1.8 E-Series (about $50).

Other than that, yeah a piece of paper with a tiny hole works too as a lens (pinhole camera). Just doesnt give too much light, thus it takes a while to photograph anything this way and while all other lens attributes are as perfect as they will ever get, sharpness isnt really that high.

Last edited: