Pentax K-5 or Canon EOS 7D

TCUphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a full time grad student and will probably do 15-30 sessions next year, and a wedding. Need a better camera, but on a very limited budget. Currently have 3 pentax lenses, only one of which I'd sell because I still want a backup camera.

Pentax K-5 body: $1200 at my local store
  • 16.3 MP

Canon EOS 7D
body: $1700 + cost of new lens (probably about $1000)
  • 18 MP
It'd be nice to stay with Pentax since I have the lenses, but everyone says "switch to Canon or Nikon". Which would you get??

What do you have now and why do you need something better?
No offense, but the fact that the only spec. you list about either camera is the Mega Pixel count...leads me to think that you have a lot to learn about cameras & photography.

I do agree that you will need a backup camera, especially if you'll be shooting a wedding.

Haha I know I got lazy. Sorry.

Currently shoot w a Pentax k100d. It's been a great starting camera, but it's too noisy at a moderate ISO, 6 MP, can't shoot RAW, etc.... I'm ready to upgrade. And the MP does have something to due with it, considering people's iphones have better resolution. Most of my clients order enlarged prints so I feel like I need to offer a good product.

It'd be nice to go with the pentax k-5. Both cameras have good reviews on amazon, I've just been told numerous times to switch to one of the big names now, while I continue to grow and accumulate equipment.