Personal Photo Shoot on Beach (Toronto Islands) - Is it allowed?

dancewithme

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I read a great thread here discussing the laws of photography in Canada but it didn't answer my question. I have a personal photo shoot I want to do but wanted to check with you guys first.

Me and my dance partner want to take some dance photos on a beach (Toronto Islands or another beach). We will be just using the point and shoot camera unfortunately and taking the photos ourselves. Luckily I am an artist and designer. But the problem is... The nature of our dance calls for us to be in costumes - think flowing silk veils, sequins, exotic jewellery, and long hair - an elegant, tranquil shoot before and at sunset. Due to the costumes, it will create quite a scene for any passerbys. I was thinking monday will have less people.

I read that if no one will be harmed financially then we can take photos. Also, we are just two citizens who want to take photos on a beach - the only difference is us wearing the costumes!

The photos will be used on our dance website.

It will just be the 2 of us in costumes with a tripod.

So what do you think?

This is probably a really basic question...any help is appreciated!

On the face of it there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with it.

I personally shot at the Islands a couple times and have done a nude shoot at the nude beach there and in other areas where nudity wasn't allowed so we had to be careful.

Just an advice, don't stick to center island, and explore the rest of it, there is a place called Hanlan's Point and Ward Island there - very amazing places to explore.

again, I doubt there are any legal implications but maybe it's best to look into it. IMHO, shooting ain't fun if there isn't some sort of risk involved.

...why wouldn't you be able to take photos at the beach?

I'd think that it would be okay; if you're concerned, why not looking into the park authority and asking about their policy?