Pet Photography with a Canon S3IS?

PetPortraits

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi!

I've just found this forum in my search to learn more about photography, and this certainly looks like the place to be!

I am actually a Pet Portrait artist, but I would like to expand my business to include Pet Photography...taking baby steps and starting off small, I have been thinking along the lines of an hour or two photo shoot at the client's home/beach/park etc, and the price ($100ish Australian which is about $75 USD???) the client would receive a CD of the photos and maybe one or two prints.

I would retain copyright on the photos (reprint permission and also models for my artwork to sell) but I would be happy for the client to print copies for their own personal use. My husband is experienced with Photoshop and Paintshop Pro so digital manipulations and print sales might be possible as well.

I guess the main question at the moment is will my Canon S3IS take good enough photo's for a service costing a lot less than a professional photographer with more expensive equipment (which I would certainly be willing to purchase if this business proves feasable). I have added a couple of photos I shot today, unedited that I am quite like (but wonder how they could be better!
Lucy_0854.JPG
).

sheep_0958.JPG

Any advice, tips and other equipment requirements would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Michelle

Welcome to the forum.

You have some nice photos here...which certainly proves that you can make good photos with your camera. In good lighting, your camera should be OK...As long as you can keep the ISO setting to a low number. It does have IS, which is a plus.