Photo editing

k_kearns

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all! I am new to the camera world. I have been researching editing software and am unsure of what the best one is. I've read about the adobe photoshop lightroom and it seems to be good, but I did not find enough reviews about it. I have a Canon T5 rebel and absolutely love it. I would love some insight, help, tips, whatever it is you have for me! Thank you and I'm so excited to be apart of the photography world!!

Sent from my iPhone using ThePhotoForum.com mobile app

Hello all! I am new to the camera world. I have been researching editing software and am unsure of what the best one is. I've read about the adobe photoshop lightroom and it seems to be good, but I did not find enough reviews about it. I have a Canon T5 rebel and absolutely love it. I would love some insight, help, tips, whatever it is you have for me! Thank you and I'm so excited to be apart of the photography world!!

Lightroom is the choice of most photographers for good reason. It's available two ways: Adobe wants you to buy it via subscription for $10.00 per month which you will then pay for as long as you want to use the software. As an added bonus you also get Adobe's Photoshop application. The two make a formidable pair. The other option is to purchase Lightroom as a stand-alone app for a one time price (approx. $149.00) but without Photoshop then.

You want to make sure you understand the difference between a parametric editor (Lightroom) and a raster or pixel editor (Photoshop).

If the purchase price of Lightroom gives you pause there are alternatives that cost less including free alternatives. A factor that will influence your choice is whether you intend to save raw files to process or camera JPEG files.

Joe