Photo settings for specific events, technical stuff

joshyface

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am the creative director for my school newspaper, I need to give a presentation on photo settings and composition (among other thing). I am proud to have this position, and I can teach the basics of composition without much problem. Despite that, I am still a relatively new photographer. I also have more experience with darkroom/film cameras, and I am not too sure if how to treat, much less teach, digital camera setting. Is it reasonably the same? Am I freaking out over nothing?

I have been playing with my Cannon Rebel XT, and I can get photo's to a reasonable place to Photoshop or even better, but I need to play around with the camera. Since I cannot be with my photographers when they are shooting, I want to give them a general range of settings for certain situations. (I understand this is a big request.) I have done some research on these settings, and have some recommended settings for situations. Despite that, with my summer homework, my job, camps, etc, I have not had much time to test and record what settings work where. Therefore, I am humbly asking the photographers of this forum to help.

I know all these settings are depend on the specific situation, so I do not expect you to give me exact numbers and more of a range. My teacher would like settings for the following: "football games, relatively still pictures w/ florescent lighting, sports photography w/ gym lighting, performances (battle of the bands, concerts, plays/musicals), outdoor sports in daylight, etc."

I understand this is a really big request, so I understand if nobody responds. I also understand any photographer is going to need to play around with the setting. With that, I do not expect my photographers to be perfect and will some photos will need to be manipulated, so I just want a general range.

F/8 and be there, should cover most of it.