Photography equipment to use?

ALEXCA

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am a photography student and I shoot anything from weddings to outdoor portraits. I have a few questions about what equipment I should start to invest in. I currently have a Nikon D80, and an off camera flash.

Should I invest in a set of strobes, umbrellas, and light stands? Flashbracket? Or off camera flashes with slaves?

Any advice would be appreciated, I get confused when it comes to slaves, cords, flashes etc. So please be detailed. Thank you!!

smile.gif

What lenses do you have and what is your current model of flash? Further what are you wanting to do - everything is a bit catch- all and a bit hard to pin down to a setup. Some idea of what limitations your setup has and what you want to do with it would help a lot. An idea of budget also helps; flash can go from dirt cheap all the way to thousands.

Personally I would start with a better camera and few fast lenses.

Should I invest in a set of strobes, umbrellas, and light stands? Flashbracket? Or off camera flashes with slaves?
smile.gif

In my opinion, if your goal is trying to improve your photography with better lighting, I think the answer is yes. Of course, it really depends on the type of photography you are going after.

Personally I would start with a better camera and few fast lenses.

That depends, many areas like studio photography the greater part is in the lighting rather than in the camera or lens. That isn't to say that camera and lens are unimportant, but simply that there is a far greater gain in quality, diversity and adaptability to be found by investing in a solid lighting setup and then considering the camera and lens.