Photos at a Public Event...

Epiphany

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Not sure what the legalities are when photographing at a public event. I helped organize our local Easter Egg Hunt this year. We of course want photos to help promote the event for next year. I mostly took photos of the group at large. Mostly peoples backs or far enough that faces weren't in great detail. The up close photos I did take of people were of the volunteers helping for the day and our local Police and FD personnel or my own kids.

With that being said, I am just starting out with my photography business and do have an LLC. Am I best off watermarking my images or not? I did copyright them. I am protected by my LLC, in that they could go after my business only. Worried about sue happy people and my rights as a photographer. I know, I know.....don't ask legal advice online. Looking for some insight. I could be over thinking this completely! Thanks!!

In the U.S. photographs made in public, where people would have no expectation of privacy, are free and fair. While you are allowed to take the photos and even publish them, I would caution you to treat any recognizable subject with respect, just as you would expect someone else to do with a photograph of you.

This has been tested many times in the courts, primarily by people who object to their photograph being published in a newspaper, for instance. The publishers of newspapers usually win, unless they are foolish enough to slander someone.

If you use the photographs to promote your business or to sell, then you need to obtain a model release from any recognizable subject. A parent or guardian may sign for a minor, but you should make sure that it really is a parent or legal guardian who is signing.

There is a legal concept called "piercing the corporate veil."
So don't think that you can hide behind a LLC for everything.
You could be named personally in a suit.