Headshots

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I am just starting out and looking for some advice for headshots. I was asked to do headshots for a professional organization. This would be my first job on a large scale. They are looking to have headshots done at their conference. It is going to be 50-70 people. What do you recommend charging? Do I charge per headshot or do a price per hour? What is the average going rate for a headshot for a someone beginning in the business? Amy help or feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks

Anthony

Greetings, and welcome!

The fee you charge should not have a bearing on whether you are new to the business. Being a newly-minted professional photographer might have something to do with your results, but to automatically offer a discounted price indicates to your client that you are a rank beginner who doesn't really have the skills to do this job.

Can you do it? Can you give your customers a professional product? If not, then you are giving them snapshots that nearly anyone with a camera can produce, so why should they pay you? Either you deliver professional results, and charge accordingly, or you don't.

It seems to me that you might want to consider a bi-level pricing structure. So much for each shot, plus an hourly charge. That way, if they miscount or suddenly find a dozen more people to shoot, you can at least get paid for them.

Good luck!

Last edited:
A 60 head session is a fairly ambitious undertaking. I price this out at $175 to walk in the door and $25/head which gets the client two low-res files. High-res files are $65/each.