Photos in Canadian airports and a note about Vancouver bus terminal

johninhalifax

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi folks, I'm a total newbie on this forum but it seems like a great spot to share some information. Exploring photography rights issues in this era of paranoia and quasi government security controls is very interesting indeed.

1) I wondered what the law or rules are at Canadian airport security screening areas. Last month I very inconspicuously (aka secretly) recorded video and audio on my 808 keychain camera a few times while traveling as I passed through security. Nothing special happened and I didn't end up with anything that needed to be shared or preserved.

However I was curious about the law and any rules so I emailed the local airport authority (YHZ). Here's the reply:
Thank you for your inquiry about photography and filming at the Halifax Stanfield International Airport. Generally, you are able to take photos of departing friends as they approach the security area or in other public areas of the terminal building. However, taking photos or filming (video or audio) of any part of the screening area or the security process is not permitted by the Canadian Air Transport Security Authority (CATSA). You can visit Canadian Air Transport Security Authority for more information about CATSA.
So I called the 1-800 number for CATSA and asked the same question; is photography of any sort permitted at security screening areas in the airport. He asked "what airport?" oddly enough. I told him. He then asked "Who are you?" and then clarified "for what reason would you take photos?". I responded that I would take photos as an ordinary traveler.

He said I would have to ask the site supervisor if I could take a photo. He said the supervisor would decide if I was a threat or not.

In other words the guy had absolutely no idea what the policy or law might be and he was just making things up.