Take two for photography

robot zombie

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Second-time newbie here. Life story incoming. You have been warned. I'm a wordy dude.

My first go of photography was back in 2008, just a few years after digital fully took over. I was 18 years old, fresh out of high-school, and very excited to go out into the world, try different jobs, meet people, and be able to devote my full energy to learning things I actually wanted to learn.

Photography was one of them. It was one of many creative things I was doing, and one of many that didn't stick, but it impacted me more than other art forms. I took a few classes at the local community college. My instructors were oldschool. We were only permitted to use 35mm SLR's and could only use manual mode. Their whole MO was "See the shot before you press the shutter - recognize all of the parameters and control as many as possible."

And they really held us to it. We were expected to note our settings and write them on the back of the prints we turned in for assignments. I had a Canon Rebel of some sort and a used nifty fifty. All in all I think I paid $150 bucks for it! It took some nice pictures. I loved it.