Photos of my car (critiques?)

Joeywhat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Here are a few photos of my car, taken over the past few years. I'm not a pro, so please don't get too technical (yet). I've only just recently decided to start learning what all the settings and such are for on my camera. Everything was shot with a Canon S3 IS. My primary problems as I see them are finding good lighting, and getting the focus right (the camera, not the car.....). I really like doing night shots, which have been very difficult as well. The camera just can't auto focus well enough, and I can't see the screen well enough to manually do it.

haLBya1.jpg

kur2GZ7.jpg

uvC42Ab.jpg

Nlnl1yU.jpg

Also, I REALLY like the overall feel of the third picture, but hate that the car isn't in focus terribly well, and those damn lights are way too bright. How could I fix such issues in the future?

As for settings used, I just about always kept the aperture at f2.7 (I didn't even know what the hell it did until a few months ago...) and the ISO at 80, then adjusted the shutter speed accordingly.

for night get a tripod (dont need a super expensive one) and go to a location of your choosing. i would set the aperture around f8 or f11 (maybe boost your iso a tad), should help with a bit of focusing. take a flash light with you if you dont feel comfortable setting your focus yourself, when you get all set up with the angle you want push the button half way while you shine the flash light on your car (now there will be enough light for your camera to focus for you) and once you got it in focus switch to manual focus so now it is locked. and take a few test shots. see what your results are and adjust accordingly, i would recommend shooting manual mode or at least aperture priority. and easiest way to not have those lights so bright is just dont park so close so there not over powering go a few rows away, or change your angle up.