Picking a macro lens

vwkid45

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I've been taking pictures with my Nikon D70, using the standard 18-70mm lens. I've been looking for a macro lens for a while now. I'm not into sports photography, but wouldn't mind trying it out.I just need a little more then the 18-70. I looked into the nikon 18-135, but i just don't know. I am still a student so money is an issue. I went to ritz camera and tried out the nikon 55-200 and the quantaray 70-300. Both were under $200. I wouldn't mind saving up a little longer to get something in the $300-400 range, but is it really worth it now? should i just get the cheaper lens and test it out, or should i just go big now and learn later. Should i look into used lenses? thanks again!

dont spend money into cheap lense....because you'll just throw them away in the end.......better save money and invest in something that you can use and will appreciate........also.....when you think you need a little more than 18-70....you are probably looking for somethign like 70-200 (135 is too little).........also....macro lense are expensive.......$$$-wise.....you cant afford it at this point with your budget....but you can always try the "reversed" shooting method.....there is a thread that teach you how to turn your regular lense into macro by turning it around

i vote for "learn now & buy later"....once you buy it....you might not use it and it becomes a waste of money

Just wanted to point out that none of the lenses you mentioned are really macro lenses, though some will allow closer focusing than others and may claim to have a 'macro' mode.. It is possible to buy true macro lenses for a good price (especially the Tamron or Sigma ones), though as shingfan pointed out you could start off with lens reversal or extension tubes for much cheaper entry into macro photography.