Please C&C.....First Beginner's Pix...

starstudit

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok so i signed up on here a while ago but had to step away for a bit, now I'm back ready to learn as much about photography as I possibly can. I posted two pix I recently took, please c & c. All comments good and bad would be greatly appreciated, that's the only way this noob will learn.:mrgreen:
3Muskateerz.jpg

3Muskateerz3.jpg

are there any other suggestions?

I love the compisition and exposure on the first one. I am a beginner myself, but I was always told to make sure the focus is sharp on the eyes, and in this shot they are a little soft.

This is a cute idea, but there are a few problems going on here.

I'm just guessing from the light I see that you should have been around 800ISO at 125 shutter. Your Ap should have been at around 4. The reason I can say this with some certainty is that the "plane" of the faces seems to be off, and that's probably because you were using too shallow of a DOF. The ISO was also too low, and that is what is producing the noise. The shutter was to slow, and shows a "drag".

Just another example that it's super important to learn to shoot on manual for the best picks.

The white balance is on the way orange side. You can fix this if you shot RAW or JPEG teamed with the latest Lightroom.

Super cute kids, but I would a reshoot if possible, on manual.

Aww, really cute girls, love the girl on the left's eyes.
I'd suggest getting a tripod.
Judging by the wall, the main light is coming from the left or aimed there, you might want to try looking up some light setups online, I really don't know enough to make recommendations.
But that's during shooting, maybe play around with the curves and brightness levels and see what you can get. :)
*also the wall on the right is way too blue!

Last edited:
What should the shutter speed have been set to? Do I focus on the eyes or the entire thing