Please critic my soon to be set-up.

shoe1998

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My first and only DSLR camera is a Olympus E-300 which i am looking to sell. I have basic experience and im planning on expanding my knowledge on digital photography. Please feel free to check out a few of my pics in my Olympus for sale thread, click here.

My new set up will consist of...

- Canon 350D body
- Canon EF 17-40 f/4
- Sigma 70-200 f/2.8
- Canon 430ex flash
- Canon RC-5 wireless remote
- Canon BG-E3 battery grip
- and this is a 50/50, a cheap 50mm f/1.8 prime or a slightly more expensive 50mm f/2.5 macro.

- or -

a slightly less expensive setup...

- Canon 350D body
- Canon EF 24-85 f/3.5-4.5 or Tamron 17-50 f/2.8
- Canon EF 70-200 f/4
- Canon 430ex flash
- Canon RC-5 wireless remote
- Canon BG-E3 battery grip
- and this is a 50/50, a cheap 50mm f/1.8 prime or a slightly more expensive 50mm f/2.5 macro.

I already have a Slik U8000 which i plan to use for a while but maybe upgrade down the road.

The 70-200mm, 430ex, and BG-E3 grip will be a a few months later after everything else when i save up a few more bucks.

I plan on doing more landscape shots like the ones in my for sale thread and i plan on getting into portraits and possibly a wedding or two for friends. Im not a pro but just like every other noob here i would like to get professional results with the least amount of money.

Please let me know what i can do differently, maybe save a few bucks wont hurt, and any suggestions.

Thanks!

Both are good set ups. I have the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 Its awesome.
I also have a 50mm f/1.8 - a real bargain at less than $70
I have read that the Canon 70-200 f/4 is quite good (I will be getting the 70-200f/2.8 )
Reviews say that the Sigma 70/200 f/2.8 is good lens.

Don't forget about the 1.6x focal length modifier on the 350D(and most all of the Canon dSLR's) - that fixed focal length 50mm lens is not going to be a "normal" lens on your digital camera.

It'll be normal, just 80mm