Please critique my photo!

blondie621

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have taken many pics of my dogs. What is wrong with this one? I am an amateur, slowly learning and only have used Auto focus. How can I fix the light on the legs? I would like to do some Pet Photography in the future! Thanx!

Picture516-3-1.jpg

Last edited:
What I don't like:

The dogs feet cut off
the lack of light to the eyes
The setting itself...I would have preferred a uniform background/foreground....or even an outdoor shot.

The shot in your avatar looks cute!

I'm going to weigh in on pet photos for a second here, which I probably have no business doing since I totally do not understand the culture or tendencies in the area.

That being said, I'm a big time pet guy and I love taking pictures of the little monsters, so this may not be totally off...

Note that I am not commenting specifically on your photo here... I am just trying to corrupt you with my evil thought process before you get into the trade in the hopes of maybe thinning the population of what I believe to be some rather tacky pet photographers. :)

I think pet pictures should be about the character of the pet... not some odd personification of the animal, or embodiment of what the owner thinks is the personfication of the animal. The pet should be doing what the pet loves to do- bounding through the woods, cuddled up to the fire, basking in the sun, whatever... not wearing a feather boa and gigantic pink sunglasses.

Don't get me wrong... creativity in this stuff is great... just not cheese. To date KPugh's "The Dogfather" is still one of my absolute favorite "slightly out there" pet photo sets. It's creative, it's cute, it's endearing, it's devoid of cheese. It's admittedly a little over the top, but the dog is being the dog... he's not wearing the feather boa and clogs.