Please Help A Complete Noob Buy His First Grown Up Camera...

SteyrAUG

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, it's time for me to buy a camera that isn't 49.95.

I'm currently using a Canon Powershot A560. It's been satisfying my basic needs of taking decent pictures of stuff for selling on ebay and photos of anything that isn't moving and can hold still a second.

The image quality is perfectly acceptable for my non professional needs but two things are unacceptable:

1. Shutter lag - I hope I'm using the correct term. Basically I press the button to take a picture...wait...and usually miss the action.

2. As the memory card becomes more than 50% full the above shutter lag problem becomes progressively worse.

One of my interests is martial arts and I really want a camera that can capture the "shot." Back in 1981 I had a Kodak 110 Instamatic and it could capture the shot. If I could get that kind of consistent shutter speed (again I'm hoping I'm using terms correctly) where pictures are taken the same moment I press the button with image quality at least as good as my Canon A560 my basic wants and needs will be satisfied.

Simply put I have no business buying a $1000 Nikon nor do I have a $1000 in my budget. I simply don't have enough naked chicks wanting to pose for me to justify such things.

I've been trying to do some research on my own and it seems like I need a digital SLR camera. Again I need to be able to capture a "shot" assuming I do the point and click part properly, I just need a camera that will do it's part.

What I don't want to do is spend way more money than I had to because there was something perfectly suitable, and probably better quality, than what I find on my own. I also don't want to get something that won't do the job and end up paying 3/4s of the price of a camera that would do the job.

Here's the two I found on my own: