Point and shoot RAW

Raos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am not sure exactly where to post this so if it is in the wrong spot please feel free to move it.

I have a Nikon D70S,but I often miss shots because I don't feel like lugging my whole camera bag around. I am looking to get a p&s that I can stick in my pocket and take with me most places. I want one that can shoot in RAW.

I am looking at the Leica D-Lux 4 and the Lumix LX3. I have heard they are essentially the same camera. Is this true?

I have a very good eye and do very well with composition, but I am a beginner when it comes to the technical aspects of photography, so Lens speed and thing like that sometimes go over my head when discussing them. I undersand enough to be dangerous, but not enough to make an informed decision as to what I need or don't need.

I will be using this camera to take shots of my kids when we are out playing on the weekends or to take the random shot that I run across, but is not planned, like a nice sunset on the ride home from work for instance or to take candids at a party where I don't want an slr hanging from my neck. I will still use my D70S for planned photo trips, but i want this p&s for every day stuff.

One thing I know I want is a camera that will shoot in RAW.

With that in mind, what can you recommend for me? Would the D-Lux 4 or LX3 be a good choice? What would the benefits and drawbacks be? Would there be a different camera that might be a better choice for me?

I am looking at the Leica D-Lux 4 and the Lumix LX3. I have heard they are essentially the same camera. Is this true?

I know the leica community wants to be set apart but yes... they are essentially the same. Minor tweaks on Leica's part for JPEG. One thing I noticed is that I recently got a firmware update from Panasonic with a lot of improvements... the DLUX 4 has yet to get a firmware update. IMO, the differences don't warrant the price difference.