Portraiture C&C (Woodie's session)

pgriz

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Although I have many years of photographic experience, I have not studied light and portraiture. So I've been practicing and need some feedback from the experienced portraiture photographers - am I getting the basic concepts, and if not, what specific comments can you make to help me improve?

First, let me introduce my subject. His name is Ivan the Balalaika player, but we call him "Woodie".
Ivan_aka_Woodie_7533_v2.jpg

Woodie's advantage (for me) is that he is very patient. Never needs to do something more important, never wants a bathroom break, never needs to go smoke... He likes his life simple. I like that in a test subject. Which is why you're not seeing photos of my pets, my wife, my kids or my friends. They have more important things to do. Natch.

In the attached photos, you'll see a salt shaker in the photos mainly so that I could see the reflection of the lights and see where they were coming from. Woodie's eyes, alas, do not do a good job of reflecting the light sources.

So we start with Broad Lighting (with fill). Main light was on Woodie's right, about 30 degrees from the horizontal plane, and about 70 degrees to the right of Woodie's central plane. Fill light was used to Woodie's left, at about 45 degrees from the horizontal and about 45 degrees to the left of Woodie's central plane.
BroadLight_7482_v2.jpg

Next, Short Lighting (with fill). Light is positioned to Woodie's left, about 45 degrees vertically (1:30 position), and about 30 degrees to his left from his centerline. Fill light of 1 stop less positioned to his right, about level with the horizon.
Short_7506_v2.jpg